Technical Advisory Committee

Dr Robbert van Oorschot (Chair) is Technical Executive Water at GHD. He has had more than 30 years’ experience specialising in wastewater treatment, BNR, biosolids handling and management, odour control and water recycling. Robbert van Oorschot

Ted Gardner (Immediate Past Chair) has chaired the committee from 2016-2018. He is a retired scientist who has had a long career in water research, both urban and rural, with Queensland state departments as well as CSIRO. He has a number of adjunct appointments, including Professor at QUT and University Sunshine Coast, and Honorary Fellow at CSIRO. Ted Gardner

Bob Ford (Secretary) was Chief Engineer with Central Highlands Water before retiring in 2008. He is a Life Member of the Australian Water Association, was President of the Victorian Branch from 1996–1998 and has been a member of the committee since 2009. Bob’s areas of expertise include public health aspects of water supply and wastewater management, management of on-site wastewater treatment systems, land use planning and catchment management, and water supply and wastewater treatment processes. Bob Ford

Andrew Bath has over 30 years’ experience in the field of drinking water quality, public health and water resource management and has worked in Europe, Africa, Australasia and America. Andrew is currently the Water Quality Policy Specialist at the Water Corporation in Perth and manages a wide range of projects in the drinking water, water resource and wastewater areas of the business. Andrew Bath

Dr Dharma Dharmabalan is General Manager – Works Delivery with Taswater in Tasmania. He has worked in the Australian water industry for more than 25 years and holds a number of degrees in Civil Engineering, Environmental, Hydrology, Computing and Water Systems Risk Management Philosophies. Dharma is also a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers UK, American Society of Civil Engineers US and Australian Institution of Engineers, Director for Water Research Australia and a past Director with the National Centre of Excellence in Desalination. Dr Dharma Dharmabalan

Lionel Ho is the Client Liaison Manager at Allwater, a joint venture between SUEZ environnement and Broadspectrum, which is in an alliance partnership with SA Water. Lionel completed his PhD in 2004 from the University of South Australia and has over 18 years’ experience in the water industry. Lionel was previously the Chair and Vice President of the AWA SA Branch Committee and has participated in numerous AWA committees. Lionel Ho

Dr Tim Muster is a Principle Research Scientist at CSIRO Land and Water. Tim’s current work seeks to better prepare our cities for the future, including water security and resource depletion. He has over 25 years of research experience in the scientific disciplines of colloid, surface and electro- chemistry, which he has most recently applied to the fields of Intelligent Water Networks and Advanced Wastewater Treatment. He has published over 70 refereed journal publications and has led numerous collaborative projects with the Water Research Foundation, The Boeing Company, Fonterra and Australian Water Recycling Centre of Excellence. Tim was the recipient of a CSIRO Julius Career Award for nutrient recovery from wastewater in 2011. In 2007 Tim was the recipient of CSIRO Young Scientist John Philip Award and has twice won the Marshall Fordham Best Research Paper of the Australasian Corrosion Association (2003 and 2005). Tim Muster

Karen Rouse commenced as WaterRA CEO in November 2016. She has a BSc Hons in Geology from the UK and a Master of Environmental Management from Adelaide University. She has extensive experience in research leadership, environmental impact assessment, environmental and water resources management and development of water utility strategies and plans. Karen has worked in the water sector since 1998, spending 16 years at SA Water and two years with CSIRO as their Urban Water Research Leader. Immediately prior to joining WaterRA Karen led SA Water’s Source Water and Environment Research and was Assistant to South Australia’s Special Advisor on International Water Opportunities. As CEO of WaterRA Karen sits on the Board of the Global Water Research Alliance and has participated as an Industry Representative on the ARC Engagement & Impact Pilot. Karen Rouse

For more information please contact the Water e-Journal Technical Coordinator:
Email:  Phone: 02 9467 8416