Australia's leading water membership association, providing training, courses and industry events including Ozwater.

Remember credentials


Join Today!

Register today to gain access to the latest news, trends and resources in the water sector. It is free to register for our e-Events newsletter and only takes a few minutes.

PO Box 222, St Leonards NSW 1590
Tel: 1300 361 426

New Awards Banner

Awards > Branch Awards > QLD Branch Awards >
  • The AWA QLD Branch Awards is the highest accolade that currently exists in the QLD Water Industry. The Water Awards have been designed to acknowledge the best of the best in the QLD Water Sector as well as recognise exceptional achievements in a range of industry and individual categories.
    Building on past success, the number of entries grow each year as does the number of people who attend the QLD Gala Dinner & Awards Presentation evening. This year's event was held at the Sofitel Brisbane on Friday, 12 September 2014.
    The awards have become the vehicle that showcases the outstanding work that is being carried out across the state, including a number of entries from Regional QLD. The 2014 Awards are in line with the AWA National Awards and provide the opportunity for the QLD winners to enter in the National Awards which are presented at Ozwater each year.


    AWA are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Queensland Water Awards. The judges had a tough time narrowing the field down due to the number of high quality submissions and would like to thank all of the nominees.


    Congratulations to all of you!


    2014 QLD Award Winners



    Award Finalists      Winners                   
     Research Innovation Award  
    Data Mining of Vertical Profiler Readings to Predict Manganese Concentrations in Water Reservoirs - Seqwater
    The human side of water alternatives – understanding and increasing public acceptance of water from alternative sources - The University of Queensland
    Putting Science in Sewer - Advanced Water Management Centre
     Program Innovation Award
    SWIMLocal - The Queensland Water Directorate (qldwater)
    Your Seqwater – Recreation Review
    Unitywater's World Toilet Day Art Prize 2013
     Infrastructure Innovation Award
     MHL Batching Plant - Unitywater
    StormDMT -GHD Pty Ltd
    Maleny Sewage Treatment Plant and Wetlands - Unitywater
     Undergraduate Award
    Eugenia Lorenza Budiyanto 
    “Model-based Evaluation of N2O Mitigation Strategies for a Full-Scale Wastewater Treatment Plant”
    Elissa O’Malley 
    "Fate and toxicity of engineered nanomaterials in treated wastewater"
     Young Water Professional of the Year



    Jonathan Carroll - SMEC Australia Pty Ltd


    Ashley Zanetti - SMEC Australia Pty Ltd
     Water Professional of the Year Award
    Michel Raymond - Seqwater

    Help us to recognise the contributions to the water industry by nominating yourself, your organisation or someone else in next years awards.

    Nominations for the 2015 Queensland Water Awards will open in the first half of next year. The award categories are:

    • Operator of the Year Award (Awarded at WIOA Conference - June 2015)

    Why enter the Awards:

    • Recognition of your / your organisation’s achievements.
    • Creation of PR / media promotion opportunities.
    • Motivate your team and develop corporate pride.
    • Distinguish yourself from your competitors.
    • National benefits of a recognised endorsement from your industry.


    Nominees need to be members of AWA (with the exception of the Undergraduate Water Prize and the Operator of the Year Award).

    For queries about the QLD Awards please contact:  

    Sharon Ible

    P (07) 3396 4880 E   



    Brian Nicholas of Acciona Agua (Award Sponsor) and Colin Lewis (AWA QLD President) presentation to:
    2013 Water Professional of the Year, Fiona Chandler