Australia's leading water membership association, providing training, courses and industry events including Ozwater.

Remember credentials


Join Today!

Register today to gain access to the latest news, trends and resources in the water sector. It is free to register for our e-Events newsletter and only takes a few minutes.

PO Box 222, St Leonards NSW 1590
Tel: 1300 361 426

New Awards Banner


    The Water Professional of the Year is awarded to individuals who have displayed a sustained passion and continued commitment to the water industry, and who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and influence in the water sector.

    Award Patron - Chris Davis

    After 15 years as the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Water Association, Chris Davis stepped down in June 2007. Chris' legacy to the water community has been recognised in perpetuity through a new water industry award named in his honour.


    Chris has taken AWA from a small collective of state and territory branches to a cohesive, vibrant, passionate association servicing members, volunteers and the business demands of funding those services.

    Held in high esteem across the water industry, nationally and internationally, Chris is particularly passionate about raising the literacy of water in the community, talent development and fostering careers in water. Chris is renowned for the time he invests in mentoring and supporting people at all stages of their career, from young water professionals to executives and politicians.


    Open to all individuals working in, or recently retired from the water industry.


    • Nominees display an exemplary personal and professional contribution in their field.
    • Individuals must be recognised for their leadership and influence amongst their colleagues and peers within the water sector.
    • Individuals must be recognised for raising the profile of careers in the water industry.
    • Individuals must be held in high esteem for the mentoring roles they play to junior water industry professionals.
    • Individuals must be recognised for their contribution to water awareness in the community.


    Please check whether your local branch offers the Water Professional of the Award. Where offered, nominations must be entered into the branch awards. Branch winners will be automatically nominated for the national award.


    Where no relevant branch awards are offered, nominations can be submitted directly to the AWA National Office. 


    Judging panel of 3-5 members, consisting of water industry personnel, and the AWA national awards convenor as chair. Judging panel’s decision will be presented to AWA Board for approval.

    Awarded at

    Ozwater Gala Dinner

    Submitting your Nomination

    Submissions should be submitted electronically and must include the following compiled information: 

    • A completed nomination form
    • An executive summary outlining the main reason for the nomination (maximum 500 words)
    • Detailed information introducing the nominee and addressing the criteria (maximum 4 A4 pages)
    • Photo (in jpg or similar format)
    • Biography (minimum 180 words, maximum 250 words)
    • Two letters of reference 

    Closing date

    The national awards closing date is 1 August 2014. Nominations for branch awards close earlier than the national awards and it is recommended that you check with your local branch for the relevant closing date.


    We invite you to combine resources with AWA and other sponsors to showcase the commitment, innovation and excellence of the Australian water industry by supporting AWA's National Water Awards Program. With your backing this program will continue to be positioned as the premier event to recognise excellence and innovation across the water industry. To learn how your business can partner with AWA on the National Water Awards Program read the Water Professional of the Year Sponsorship Prospectus.  


    AWA Awards  

    ph. 02 9436 0055

    Australian Water Association
    PO Box 222, St Leonards NSW 1590