Technical Advisory Committee

Ted Gardner (Chair) is a retired scientist who has had a long career in water research, both urban and rural, with Queensland state departments as well as CSIRO. He has a number of adjunct appointments, including Professor at QUT and University Sunshine Coast, and Honorary Fellow at CSIRO. Ted Gardner

Bob Ford (Secretary) was Chief Engineer with Central Highlands Water before retiring in 2008. He is a Life Member of the Australian Water Association, was President of the Victorian Branch from 1996–1998 and has been a member of the committee since 2009. Bob’s areas of expertise include public health aspects of water supply and wastewater management, management of on-site wastewater treatment systems, land use planning and catchment management, and water supply and wastewater treatment processes. Bob Ford

Frank Bishop (Immediate Past Chair) (AM MEng HonFIEAust FICE) has chaired the committee from 1981 - 2016. Frank’s professional career in consulting engineering has evolved from Assistant Engineer to Managing Director and Senior Consultant in the fields of Water, Sanitation & Environmental Engineering throughout Australia, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea and Vietnam. Frank worked with the Scott & Furphy Group from 1949–2001 and was Senior Consultant with GHD from 2001–2007. Frank Bishop

Chris Davis (Technical Editor) served on the National Water Commission for five years and was CEO of AWWA/AWA for 15 years. He has been Technical Editor of Water Journal/ Water e-Journal for two years. Chris is also currently Chair of the Independent Water Advisory Panel, which focuses on the Sydney Metro Water Plan and the Lower Hunter Water Plan. Chris Davis
Andrew Bath has over 30 years’ experience in the field of drinking water quality, public health and water resource management and has worked in Europe, Africa, Australasia and America. Andrew is currently the Water Quality Policy Specialist at the Water Corporation in Perth and manages a wide range of projects in the drinking water, water resource and wastewater areas of the business. Andrew Bath

Mike Chapman is a Chemical Engineer with 40 years’ experience in the water industry. He is a water treatment and water supply specialist and has extensive experience in new water, industrial and recycled treatment design, review/upgrade of existing treatment plants, risk assessment and pilot plant studies. He is currently Manager, Water Quality, with GHD. Mike Chapman

Dr Dharma Dharmabalan is General Manager – Works Delivery with Taswater in Tasmania. He has worked in the Australian water industry for more than 25 years and holds a number of degrees in Civil Engineering, Environmental, Hydrology, Computing and Water Systems Risk Management Philosophies. Dharma is also a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers UK, American Society of Civil Engineers US and Australian Institution of Engineers, Director for Water Research Australia and a past Director with the National Centre of Excellence in Desalination. Dr Dharma Dharmabalan

Wilf Finn is a lawyer who has worked in private practice, in-house and in Australian and NSW Government water and natural resource management agencies. He has a Masters in Environmental Science majoring in Water Science and Water Management from the ANU. Wilf is currently a Corporate Counsel at WaterNSW in Sydney. Wilf Finn

Antony Gibson is Business Development Director for Ixom (formerly Orica Chemicals). Antony has previously held a range of technical, engineering and commercial leadership positions, with a particular focus on advanced water treatment technologies. He holds an MBA from Melbourne Business School and a chemical engineering degree from the University of Queensland. Antony Gibson

Lionel Ho is the Client Liaison Manager at Allwater, a joint venture between SUEZ environnement and Broadspectrum, which is in an alliance partnership with SA Water. Lionel completed his PhD in 2004 from the University of South Australia and has over 18 years’ experience in the water industry. Lionel was previously the Chair and Vice President of the AWA SA Branch Committee and has participated in numerous AWA committees. Lionel Ho

Dr Des Lord is a Scientist and Engineer with more than 35 years of experience in water resources management as well as in offshore marine industries. He has held research and academic positions in South Africa and Canada and has extensive industry and consultancy experience in Australia. He was a Commissioner with the National Water Commission and is currently Adjunct Professor at the University of Western Australia. Dr Des Lord

Dr Tim Muster is a Principle Research Scientist at CSIRO Land and Water. Tim’s current work seeks to better prepare our cities for the future, including water security and resource depletion. He has over 25 years of research experience in the scientific disciplines of colloid, surface and electro- chemistry, which he has most recently applied to the fields of Intelligent Water Networks and Advanced Wastewater Treatment. He has published over 70 refereed journal publications and has led numerous collaborative projects with the Water Research Foundation, The Boeing Company, Fonterra and Australian Water Recycling Centre of Excellence. Tim was the recipient of a CSIRO Julius Career Award for nutrient recovery from wastewater in 2011. In 2007 Tim was the recipient of CSIRO Young Scientist John Philip Award and has twice won the Marshall Fordham Best Research Paper of the Australasian Corrosion Association (2003 and 2005). Tim Muster

John Poon is a Civil Engineer with 25 years of experience in water infrastructure development. From 2000 to 2003, he was the Study Manager for the Singapore government’s well-known and highly successful NEWater programme. He also led the team responsible for completing world-class and multi-awarded NEWater Visitor Centre. His contributions to potable reuse helped CH2M win the prestigious 2015 Stockholm Industry Water Award. John Poon

David Power is a Senior Civil Engineer, with broad experience within Australia and overseas in water supply and sewerage. Formerly with Melbourne Water for 25 years, David became a private consultant for several years before joining Beca Pty Ltd in Melbourne as Technical Lead, Hydraulics. David Power

Dr Ian Prosser heads the Water Information Services Branch in the Bureau of Meteorology and was previously the Science Director for CSIRO’s Water Flagship Program. Ian has more than 20 years of research experience in catchment hydrology and water quality, and was editor of CSIRO’s book on water resources: Water, Science and Solutions for Australia (2011). Ian Prosser

Dr Ashok Sharma is a Civil/Environmental Engineer with 30 years of experience in industry (planning, design and construction) and academic (research, teaching) specialising in centralised/decentralised urban and peri-urban water supply, wastewater and stormwater systems. He is currently an Associate Professor Water Resources at Victoria University, Melbourne. Ashok Sharma

Dr Robbert van Oorschot is Technical Executive Water at GHD. He has had more than 30 years’ experience specialising in wastewater treatment, BNR, biosolids handling and management, odour control and water recycling. Robbert van Oorschot

Diane Wiesner is Principal Scientist, Science Plus Consulting Group and formerly with the Australian Water Association. Diane specialises in training and development, having had a long history of involvement in professional and vocational education that has grown from direct face -to-face and distance teaching to curriculum development, program content planning, to management and facilitation of senior executive level workshops and master classes. Diane Wiesner