Diversity the hallmark of new water resources management panel

Posted 5 April 2017

Hinze Dam QueenslandA broader range of voices will contribute to Queensland water resources management processes through a new independent advice panel, the State Government has said. 

Minister for State Development and Minister for Natural Resources and Mines Dr Anthony Lynham said the 12 appointees to the Water Act Referral Panel were from diverse backgrounds. 

“The mix of experience we see in this new panel is different from previous years, with members now representing agriculture, natural resource management, resources, local government, regional and community development, conservation, and the interests of Aboriginal peoples and Torres Strait Islander peoples,” he said.  

“I’m particularly pleased that the interests of North West Queensland will be given a voice with a representative from Mount Isa this year joining the panel, as well as representatives from Cardwell, Kingaroy, Rockhampton and Goondiwindi.”

The panel is appointed every three years to provide advice to the minister and the department on water resources management matters. 

It advises on changes to water entitlements held by water users, rules for the operation of a water supply scheme, applications to relocate a water licence, and whether water entitlements are to be granted, amended or refused.

“With the draft Great Artesian Basin water plan, draft water resources management protocol and draft water entitlement notice released earlier this year, advising on public submissions on planning proposals could be the panel’s first task,” Lynham said. 

“I have always appreciated the frank and considered advice of the panel, and I look forward to working with the new group to manage the sustainability of Queensland’s vital water resources.” 

The appointees are:

Fiona Barron – Cairns 
Leith Boully – Brisbane 
Professor Allan Dale (James Cook University) – Cairns area 
Cheryl Dalton – Kingaroy area 
Alison Dowling – Mount Isa 
Ian Johnson – Brisbane 
Bruce McCollum – Goondiwindi 
Richard James Mobbs – Bundaberg area 
Professor Steven Raine (University of Southern Queensland) – Toowoomba 
Philip Rist – Cardwell 
Claire Rodgers – Rockhampton 
Professor Poh-Ling Tan (Griffith University) – Brisbane